Do I really love You, Lord?

“I love You, Lord

And I lift my voice to worship You

Oh, my soul rejoice

Take joy, my King, in what You hear

Let it be a sweet, sweet sound in Your ears.”

 

This song is probably one of the best known Christian songs out there. Although there’s already a lot of good Christian music now being used at churches, I would always be brought to tears whenever I hear or sing this song. I love how this song, simple as it is, speaks so much of a worshiper’s desire to really worship God. It doesn’t even need complicated chords, riveting riffs or spectacular and powerful vocals for it to impact many. The simple message it has is more than enough to do that.

 

This morning, when I was listening to this song as I was preparing for the message I’ll be sharing later at a group, it took on a whole new meaning for me.

 

“I love You, Lord and I lift my voice to worship You…”

 

When we are filled with God’s love we can’t help but lift our voice and worship God, right? But earlier I had to ask myself, do I really lift my voice to worship God? What does it really mean when I say “and I lift my voice to worship You”? I realized it’s not just pertaining to when we sing songs to Him but also when we speak, act or think.

 

Worship is not just the singing of songs during worship times at church or during your quiet time. Worship is what we do when we are at home and our parents asked us to do something. Worship is how we do our tasks at work. Worship is how we talk to our friends and the things we talk about. Worship is what’s on our mind (even what you post) when you are in the comment section on Facebook. Worship is what I do when I’m all alone in my room.

 

What I am trying to say is that our life is our worship to God. When we say we worship God, we say “Lord, I surrender everything to You. My life is now my worship to You.” So the way we live our life, the things we do, say or think reflects the kind of worship we give God. I’m not saying we should be perfect and that if we really love God, we won’t fail at all. Because we will. We are weak and it is only by His grace and strength that we can really live a life that is for Him. His forgiveness is always ready and available and all we have to do is ask Him for it whenever we do fail and end up sinning. We can offer our life to Him as our worship because of what Jesus did on the cross for us. He paid for our sins and rose again so that we may be made clean once again and be reunited with our Father once more.

 

I hope that the next time we do, say or think of something, we ask ourselves first these questions: will He really take joy in whatever He would hear come out of my mouth when I talk? Am I really rejoicing in Him every day even in the midst of difficulties? Are the things I say, do and think a sweet sight and sound to God? Do I really lift up my life to Him in surrender?

 

I pray that starting today, our lives would now really say, “I love You, Lord.” And if it’s not yet, it’s not too late. God is just waiting for You to accept the love He has for you and surrender everything to Him.

 

Have a great day!

 

So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.

1 Corinthians 10:31 (ESV)

And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

Colossians 3:17 (ESV)

 

 

Cessa ❤

 

Published by

princesshcroyon

Saved by grace, forgiven and rescued, found and restored, healed and made new, adopted and loved. A child of God and daughter of a King, therefore, a princess.

Leave a Reply

